Location: 1200 N. Harbor Blvd.
1920: improved in 1930s
The Hillcrest Park area has been an important resource in Fullerton, ever since the 35-acre parcel was purchased by the city for $67,300 in 1920. Originally bare of trees, the land was used as an overnight auto park camping site during the 1920s. The park evolved through the 1930s into its present form. The first city water reservoir is still located within the parkland, and the original trails were created with horse and plow. The hundreds of pine and eucalyptus trees planted in the mid-1920s transformed the site dramatically, but the W.P.A. fountain and the stone work in various areas of the park created a truly unique environment.
Included within the park are three structures. The recreation building, designed with a Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, is the former American Legion Post #142, constructed in 1932; the Red Cross building is the former Children’s Library, moved from its location on North Pomona Avenue; and the log cabin is the Isaac Walton league clubhouse, which was originally built in 1932, but reconstructed in 1996.
A master plan for Hillcrest Park was adopted in 1996, which will guide its redevelopment over the next 20 years. The master plan requires the restoration, retention and preservation of historic features and buildings, in particular the stone work that was completed in the 1930s under the auspices of the W.P.A.